How to pay a missed toll?
Missed a toll? If you haven’t paid a toll while traveling through a toll facility, it may be counted as missed toll or toll violation. In consequence, you must follow certain steps to remedy the situation. Otherwise, a missed toll may even lead to a suspension of your registration. Of course, the entire process of missed toll notification and payments may vary depending on the state but in most cases, you should wait for the authorities to mail you the bill and instructions to pay it. You can also pay before receiving a toll invoice. Let’s explain in detail how to pay a missed toll in different states.
Which states have tolls?
Before we jump into the process of paying a missed toll, we should stop and explain how many states do have toll roads. Not every US state has toll facilities. There are also some states that only have one stretch of highway, road, or tunnel that has tolls like Alaska. In the following states, you don’t have to pay tolls at all:
There are also some states with one toll road such as Vermont, Louisiana, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, Oregon, Rhode Island, and Utah. In the table below, you will find the rest of the US states with their toll road mileage:
Toll road mileage
The most popular payment option in the US is the transponder tag. However, there are also other ways to pay tolls such as cash, the license plate, credit or debit card, and prepaid card. The most expensive toll road is Chesapeake Expressway in Virginia, the 17-Mile Drive in California, and Fort Bend Parkway in Houston.
How do I pay a toll that I missed?
The simplicity of the process of paying an unpaid toll depends on whether you have a transponder tag or not. Transponder tags have always been the easiest and the most affordable way of paying tolls. They use user-friendly and intuitive payment platforms to provide drivers with multiple payment modes and a variety of payment methods. If you want to make sure you calculate the total cost of your journey properly, we always recommend using an online toll calculator.
Missed a toll in Virginia?
If you received a toll violation notice, the easiest way is to pay online on the E-ZPass Virginia website. You can also mail a check or money order, as well as dial the E-ZPass Service Center. Finally, you can pay in person in cash or with a check at the E-ZPass Service Center. You can check whether you have any missed tolls in Virginia on the VDot website. The fees and tolls must be resolved within 30 days. Otherwise, you will be subject to additional charges.
TxTag missed a toll
How to pay a missed toll in Texas? The answer isn’t very clear because toll roads in Texas are run by various agencies. The process of paying missed tolls varies depending on the tolling agency. Please see the details below:
TxDOT (Texas Department of Transportation) sends a Pay By Mail invoice when a toll is missed. The invoice can be paid online or over the phone. The Toll By Mail option includes a $1.15 statement fee.
NTTA (North Texas Tollway Authority) requires drivers to pay missed tolls using ZipCash. The invoice can be paid using the ZipCash platform, over the phone, or in person at the customer center. ZipCash is a video toll payment system that enables drivers to benefit from a 50% discount on tolls.
HCTRA (Harris County Toll Road Authority) allows drivers to pay the violation invoice online on the HCTRA website. A missed toll invoice may include additional fees and penalties.
How do I pay a missed toll in Kansas?
Missed tolls can be paid online on the Kansas Turnpike Authority website. You should use information from the statement you received. Your trip approval should occur within three days of travel and payment can only be accepted when the trip is processed in the system. If this is your first time violating toll in Kansas, you may avoid paying the higher rate by calling 800-USE-KTAG.
How to pay a missed toll in Oklahoma?
If you missed a toll in Oklahoma, you need to pay a missed toll later. Most drivers just send cash or cheque to the Oklahoma Turnpike Authority. After you miss a toll, you will receive a Toll Evasion Notice by mail. You can pay the bill via credit or debit card on the PIKEPASS website.
How do I pay a missed toll in Illinois?
A missed toll payment system in Illinois is based on the I-PASS payment platform. It offers a wide variety of payment methods and it’s the simplest way to pay missed tolls. You need to set up the state Pay By Plate service and then you just need to pay a missed toll within 14 days from your travel. If you pay within 14 days, you will avoid extra fees and fines. Missed toll payments can be also made pay by plate by mailing a check or money order to Illinois Tollway.